I really don’t want to turn this into a dating blog. But, dating is part of this new life in recovery for me. And, many of you have been with me through the The Wizard, through The Shiny Lure, through M-Man, through… oh darn, what did I call him… was it Adventure Man? Then, there was the Chef Man saga.

Now… we have Online Guy.

After ending our first date two and a half minutes in to it with an explanation of a doctor’s appointment, I really didn’t think I would hear from him again.

I did.

We scheduled a time to meet.  A “do-over,” as he called it.

This time: a Big Box Bookstore. I had about an hour and a half before parenting duties called. We met, got our warm beverages, and chatted. This. That. A couple of awkward silences. I looked at my cup of tea, then up at him. He was staring at me. My eyes locked on to his. No words needed. We relaxed, and the conversation grew into a hilarious, side-splitting adventure.

We walked the aisles of the bookstore, poking fun at the books.

“Do you collect action figures?” he said. Straight face.

“No, I can’t say that I do,” I said.

“I do. I have a whole room full of them.  All in their original boxes. They all watch me. But, never touch the boxes.”  And we both burst out laughing as we walked by the action figures in the store.

I don’t think I have ever laughed so hard, sober, on a first date.

“I hate to end this,” I said. “But parenting duties call.”

“Do you want to go out again?” he said. “Another date?”

“I’d love to.”

We made plans as he walked me to my car. We gave each other that customary meet-for-the-first-time-and-are-interested hug — the tight, full body squeeze that lingers. He kissed my cheek. I started to pull away when his lips touched mine. Standing in the Big Box Bookstore parking lot, in the chill of a winter’s night, he kissed me.

Wait! What? He’s kissing me. His lips are really on mine. Really? I only expected a hug. But, wow, oh, wow.  

Yeah, one of those type of kisses.

The message is very clear from Online Guy. No guessing about what he’s thinking. It was a crystal clear: “I want to see you again. I like you.”

And, the best I can tell: he isn’t married.